Coronavirus (COVID-19) Alert

New Applicants

New applicants for the Mobile Food Vending License can submit an application by mail or in person.

By Mail

DCA Licensing Center
42 Broadway
New York, NY 10004

In Person

By Appointment Only. Please email LicensingAppointments@dca.nyc.gov or call (212) 436-0441 (Monday - Friday, 8 AM - 4 PM).

Renewing Licensees

New York City’s Emergency Executive Orders that extended license expiration dates and renewal application deadlines because of the COVID-19 pandemic ended. The deadline to renew your Mobile Food Vending License depends on the expiration date.

Visit the Department of Health's permits and licenses page for the latest updates.

Important

  • Pre-permit inspections are by appointment only.
  • The Health Academy class and exam are now virtual. New applicants should check the back of your application receipt which explains what you need to do before the class and exam.

Need something else?

If you will sell food from a permitted pushcart or truck year-round you must have a Full-Term Mobile Food Vending License. All license applicants must attend and pass a Mobile Food Vendor Food Protection Course before they are issued a license. The license is required before applying for the permit.

Fee

The license fee is $50. United States veterans are exempt from the fee.

The combined fee for the license renewal and tax clearance is $60. United States veterans are exempt from the license fee but must pay $10 for the tax clearance.

The cost of the course is $53. Applicants apply for the license and register for the class at the same time.

Currently, only in-person applications and registrations are available.

Expiration Date

The license expires every 2 years on staggered dates.

You can request a license application, which includes forms and information about requirements.

Online

Visit the Department of Health's permits and licenses page.

By Mail

Call 311 or 212-NEW-YORK (212-639-9675) to request a paper copy.

You can get information on renewing your license online through the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's website. 

Visit the Department of Health's permits and licenses page.

Licensed mobile food vendors must take an online refresher course in food protection and safe operating practices and pass a final exam every four years to maintain their license. 

The course takes approximately 15 minutes to complete and is free. Registration is required. 

Take the Mobile Food Vending Refresher Course.

You can get the status of your application.

Call 311 or 212-NEW-YORK (212-639-9675) for assistance.

You can get answers to license-specific questions and information about application requirements.

Call 311 or 212-NEW-YORK (212-639-9675) for assistance.

A new local law changes how mobile food vendors can get a new full-term (year-round) mobile food vending permit. To get a new, full-term mobile food vending permit, you will need a new type of license called a supervisory license.

The NYC Health Department will offer 445 supervisory license applications each year for 10 years beginning in July 2022. 

The citywide and non-Manhattan supervisory license waiting lists will open in November 2022.

Vendors eligible to join these waiting lists include:

  • Vendors who were on a full-term citywide or borough-specific permit waiting list
  • Vendors who continuously held a mobile food vending license from March 1, 2017 through February 28, 2021

Learn about supervisory licenses, including eligibility requirements.

  Was this information helpful?   Yes    No