Need something else?

Visit for the latest COVID-19 health and safety guidance from the Department of Education (DOE).

If you have questions or concerns about your child’s school, contact the school directly. For contact information, visit the School Finder page.

In general, masks are optional on school grounds and on school buses for all students and staff, including 2 to 4 year old children in all early childhood settings. Staff are strongly recommended to wear masks.

Anyone who chooses to wear a mask may continue to do so, and your child may request a mask from their school if they need one. 

Mask wearing is still required in medical rooms and nurses' offices, as well as in School Based Health Centers.

COVID-19 Exposure

Masks are strongly recommended for any staff member or student who knows they have been exposed to COVID-19 within the previous 10 days.

COVID-19 Positive Result

Regardless of vaccination status, students and staff who test positive for COVID-19 must isolate for 5 days and can return to school on day 6 if they have no symptoms or symptoms are improving. They must wear mask in schools and on school buses until day 10 after symptom onset or date of positive test, whichever is earlier.

There is no vaccine mandate for students ages 5 or older attending public school.

As of February 10, 2023, COVID-19 vaccination is no longer required for staff at:

  • Public schools
  • Charter schools
  • Private schools
  • Child care and after school programs

Everyone is still encouraged to get the COVID-19 vaccine and booster when eligible. To find a vaccination site, visit the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Vaccine page.

Families are encouraged to record their student’s vaccination status in the DOE's COVID-19 Vaccination Portal at

Submitting this information will support New York City’s pandemic response and recovery efforts, and help ensure that DOE schools and buildings remain safe places for all students and staff.

Students and their families can access the Vaccine Portal with the student's DOE account login credentials (email and password).

The Vaccine Portal will ask you to:

  • Identify the type of vaccine,
  • Where you received it (in or out of New York City), and
  • When you received the vaccine.

You will then need to upload an image or screenshot of the proof of vaccine. It can be an image of a vaccination card, NYS Excelsior Pass, or other government record.

The privacy and security of your information will be protected by technical, physical, and administrative safeguards, including encryption. This information will be kept confidential in accordance with federal, state, and local laws. 

Learn more about the Vaccination Portal.

Learn more about DOE Student Accounts.

Technical Support

You can get assistance by phone if you are having technical issues with the Vaccination Portal.

  • Agency: Department of Education
  • Division: DOE Service Desk
  • Phone Number: (718) 935-5100
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 6 AM - 5 PM
  • You'll hear an automated message that will ask for your language. After choosing your language, press 5 for remote learning device assistance.

All schools are required to follow health and safety protocols to prevent, identify, and address the spread of COVID-19.

Schools will also:

  • Promote healthy behaviors such as physical distancing, wearing face coverings, handwashing, and using sanitizer
  • Distribute self-test kits to students and staff who show symptoms of COVID-19
  • Clean the school throughout the day and disinfect every night
  • Maintain an isolation room for students with symptoms with a dedicated staff member or health professional
  • Communicate clearly with families and the school community
  • Have a nurse in every public school building

Get the latest COVID-19 health and safety information for public schools.

Download the DOE health and safety guide.

Families with questions about DOE health and safety protocols can contact their school directly. Feedback about changes to these protocols can be emailed to

Daily Health Screenings

The daily health screener is no longer required to enter public school buildings. 

COVID-19 Cases in Schools

Daily COVID Case Map

You can view a map that shows all known active interventions and cases of COVID-19 at New York City public schools. It is updated Sunday through Friday at 6 PM.

View the daily COVID case map.

Quarantine and School Closure Protocols 

If there is a positive case in a classroom, students who were in close proximity to these students will no longer have to quarantine and will continue attending school if they do not have symptoms and do not have a positive test result from a COVID test. These students will be sent home with a self test kit and should follow the instructions for testing at home.

Schools will be closed only when it is determined by the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH) that there is widespread transmission in the school.

If you have questions or concerns about quarantine protocols, contact your child's school. Visit the School Finder page for school contact information.

School Visitor Policy

As of February 10, 2023, proof of COVID-19 vaccination is no longer required for visitors to public school buildings.

    The DOE provided internet-enabled Digital Learning Devices to public school students in New York City. All Digital Learning Devices were granted on a temporary basis and will later need to be returned.

    DOE is no longer providing Digital Learning Devices.

    Get answers to some Digital Learning Device questions.

    Returning a DOE Digital Learning Device

    If the student is returning to a DOE school, DOE Pre-K or 3-K program, or are participating in a DOE program in a non-public or charter school, you do not need to return the Digital Learning Device to DOE at this time. 

    If the student is not returning to a DOE school or program, the borrowed device must be returned to DOE. You can bring the device back to the last DOE school the student attended. Make sure to give it to the Principal, Assistant Principal, Parent Coordinator, School Point of Contact for Technology (SPOC) or other person at the school who is in charge of technology. 

    Learn more about returning a Digital Learning Device.

    Get Help

    You can get help with DOE Digital Learning Devices, including but not limited to:

    • Setting up the device
    • Accessing applications
    • Technical issues
    • Internet connection issues
    • Device delivery status
    • Connectivity issues in temporary housing

    • Agency: Department of Education
    • Division: DOE Service Desk
    • Phone Number: (718) 935-5100
    • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 6 AM - 5 PM
    • You'll hear an automated message that will ask for your language. After choosing your language, press 5 for remote learning device assistance.

    Parking restrictions remain in effect while schools are in session.

    Parking is allowed in school zones only when school is in recess. However, you should be aware that specific schools may be open on holidays and during summer vacations. Parking restrictions would remain in effect.

    Also, when schools are open for summer sessions, teacher meetings, or similar activities, the parking regulations apply on such days, even if students aren't attending.

    You should contact the specific school to make sure that it's in recess.

    To look up information for a public school, go to the School Finder page.

      Was this information helpful?   Yes    No