Travel to New York State
Travelers, including New York State residents, are required to quarantine for 10 days upon entering New York State.
However, you can test out of the mandatory quarantine by following these guidelines:
If you were in another state or country designated as high risk by the CDC for more than 24 hours:
- You must obtain a test within 3 days of departure from that state.
- You must, upon arrival in New York, quarantine for 3 days.
- On day 4 of your quarantine, you must obtain another COVID test. If both tests come back negative, you may exit quarantine early upon receipt of the second negative diagnostic test.
If you were in another state for less than 24 hours:
- You do not need a test prior to their departure from the other state, and does not need to quarantine upon arrival in New York State.
- However, you must fill out the traveler information form upon entry into New York State, and take a COVID diagnostic test 4 days after your arrival in New York.
This does not apply to travelers arriving from New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, or Vermont.
Exceptions to the travel advisory are permitted for essential workers and are based on how long they will stay in New York.
The City has COVID-19 quarantine checkpoints at key entry points into New York City to ensure compliance with New York State quarantine orders and continue to contain COVID-19. The New York City Sheriff’s Office, working with other law enforcement agencies, will operate traveler registration checkpoints at major bridge and tunnel crossings into New York City. Checkpoint locations may change on a daily basis.
When a vehicle is stopped at a checkpoint, the driver and passengers will be asked where they are traveling from and how long they were in that location. If you are not traveling from New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts or Vermont, you will be informed of the 14-day quarantine requirements and instructed to complete an online New York State Health Department Travel Form as soon as possible. Travelers can expect to spend less than 5 minutes at the checkpoint. If you have already completed the travel form and can show the email confirmation that you have done so, you will be dismissed from the checkpoint faster.
The Mayor's Public Engagement Unit is engaging in outreach at Penn Station to educate incoming passengers from states with high COVID-19 transmission rates about New York State home-quarantine orders.
Hotels or Short-Term Rentals
Starting Friday, August 21, anyone who has visited a restricted state or territory within the last 14 days is required to complete the New York State Traveler Health Form before checking into a hotel, motel, inn, or a short-term rental in New York City.
If you have already filled out the form, you may show proof, such as a screenshot of the certification page of a completed form.
You will not be allowed access to a room until you have completed the form electronically or on paper.
Travelers who do not complete the form may be subject to significant fines and a misdemeanor violation.
Learn more about the State’s restrictions for travel.
Complete the New York State Traveler Health Form.
Learn more about mandatory traveler health form completion at hotels and short-term rentals.
You can report people who are not complying with self-quarantine traveling guidelines by phone.
Travel to Other States
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) advise residents to be mindful of domestic travel. If you decide to travel for non-essential tasks, try to protect yourself and others by following proper health and social distancing guidelines.
Learn more about how to plan for domestic travel.
Travel to the U.S. or Other Countries
The Department of State advises United States citizens to reconsider travel abroad at this time due to the global impact of coronavirus.
On September 28, 2020, Governor Cuomo signed an executive order reminding international travelers entering New York from high risk countries to quarantine and fill out the New York State Traveler Health Form to further prevent the spread of COVID-19 as countries across the globe experience second waves of the virus.
Learn more about the State’s restrictions for international travel.
Effective January 26, the CDC will require all air passengers entering the United States (including U.S. citizens and Legal Permanent Residents) to present a negative COVID-19 test, taken within three calendar days of departure, or proof of recovery from the virus within the last 90 days. Airlines must confirm the negative test result or proof of recovery for all passengers two years of age and over prior to boarding.
Airlines must deny boarding of passengers who do not provide documentation of a negative test or recovery.
Learn more about the travel rules for entering the United States.