New York City residents convicted of an animal abuse crime must register with the NYC Animal Abuse Registry.

You can:

  • Learn about the registration process
  • Report someone who failed to register
  • Subscribe to the Registry if you own an animal-related business or organization

Learn more about the Animal Abuse Registry.

Animal Abuse Registration Act

The 2014 Animal Abuse Registration Act requires anyone living in New York City who is convicted of an animal abuse crime after October 2, 2014, and who is at least 18 years old at the time of conviction, to contact the NYC Health Department to be added to the NYC Animal Abuse Registry.

If you are required to register for the Animal Abuse Registry, you must contact the Health Department within 5 days of being released from incarceration, or within five days of sentencing if you were not incarcerated.

The registration period lasts for 5 years after sentencing or, if incarcerated, for five years after your release from incarceration. 

Failure to register as required may be punishable by up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.

You can register by email or by phone.

By Email

Send an email to animalabuseregistry@health.nyc.gov.

By Phone

Call 311 for assistance.

Required Updates to Registry

If you are on the Registry, you must contact the NYC Health Department to update your registration:

  • Each year within 20 days of your first registration date
  • Within 5 days of any change in original registration information

You can report someone you believe should be listed on the Animal Abuse Registry.

By Email

Send an email to animalabuseregistry@health.nyc.gov.

By Phone

Call 311 for assistance.

The 2014 Animal Abuse Registration Act requires certain animal-related businesses and organizations to check the NYC Animal Abuse Registry and refuse to sell or transfer ownership of an animal to anyone listed in the Registry.

Before a business or organization requests a subscription to the registry, they must be approved by the NYC Department of Health.

Call 311 for assistance by phone.