You can get help with questions about the law, the court system in general, and court-related matters.

You can also file a complaint about a state court employee.

Online

Get court information.

Learn more about different courts.

Make a suggestion, comment, or file a complaint.

By Phone

  • Agency: New York Courts
  • Phone Number: (800) 268-7869
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 9 AM - 5 PM
  • Automated assistance is also available in Cantonese, Mandarin, and Spanish.

You can report snow or ice on a sidewalk in front of a courthouse.

If there is an emergency or a condition that needs immediate attention, you can speak to the chief clerk or the court officer of that court.

If the situation is not an emergency, you can file a complaint on the NY Courts website.

Make a suggestion, comment, or file a complaint.

Judges are either appointed or elected. The Association of the Bar of the City of New York provides information on becoming a judge.

Visit the New York City Bar's website.

Courts are closed on the following holidays in 2019:

  • Tuesday, January 1: New Year's Day
  • Monday, January 21: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Tuesday, February 12: Lincoln's Birthday
  • Monday, February 18: President's Day
  • Monday, May 27: Memorial Day
  • Thursday, July 4: Independence Day
  • Monday, September 2: Labor Day
  • Monday, October 14: Columbus Day
  • Tuesday, November 5: Election Day
  • Monday, November 11: Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 28: Thanksgiving Day
  • Wednesday, December 25: Christmas Day