New York State's Abandoned Infant Protection Act allows a parent to abandon a newborn baby up to 30 days of age anonymously and without fear of prosecution, as long as the baby is abandoned in a safe manner.
A parent is not guilty of a crime if the infant is left with an appropriate person or in a suitable location and the parent promptly notifies an appropriate person of the infant's location. A hospital or a staffed police or fire station are examples of safe and suitable choices.
A person leaving an infant under this law is not required to give his or her name.
Learn more about the Abandoned Infant Protection Act.
Use the pages below to find a safe location to bring an unwanted baby who is up to 30 days old:
- Agency: New York State Office of Children and Family Services
- Division: Abandoned Infant Protection Act Information
- Phone Number: (866) 505-7233
- Business Hours: Mon - Fri: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM