Community and Citywide Education Councils (CCEC) work with the Chancellor and district superintendents to review educational programs in each school district. 

There are 32 Community Education Councils in New York City. Each community school district that includes public Kindergarten through 8th grade must have a Community Education Council.

There are also four Citywide Education Councils that advocate for students in special populations, including:

  • High schools
  • English Language Learners
  • District 75
  • Special Education

Parents and guardians of NYC public schools can sign up to run for an Education Council seat beginning January 9, 2023.

For parents or guardians to run or vote, they must first sign up for a NYC Schools Account by going to

Learn more about education councils.

Get information about Education Council elections.

Call 311 or 212-NEW-YORK (212-639-9675) for help.

All Community and Citywide Education Council members are selected for 2-year terms by the officers of the Parent Associations or Parent Teacher Associations (PA/PTAs) of the schools in their district.

The new term began July 1, 2023 and continues through June 30, 2025.

  • January 9 to February 13: Applicants can fill out the Education Council online application
  • February 27 to April 20: Candidate forums 
  • April 21 to May 9: Voting period 
  • June 2023: Results announced
  • July 1: New term begins

 Was this information helpful?   Yes    No