Need something else?

You can dispose of a mattress, box spring, or futon with your regular trash.

Before you put it out for collection, you must seal it in a plastic bag. Bags can be any color except red or orange. This rule helps prevent the spread of bed bugs.

If you don't dispose of mattresses or box springs properly, they won't be collected, and you may receive a $100 fine.

The City does not provide mattress or box spring bags or covers. You can get them at department stores, home improvement stores, and moving supply centers.

In general, there is no collection on sanitation holidays, but that is subject to change. You can check back near the date of the holiday to confirm the collection schedule.

Usually:

  • If a holiday occurs on your trash or compost collection day, put your items out after 4 PM that day for collection beginning the next day.
  • If a holiday occurs on your recycling collection day, put your items out after 4 PM the day before your next scheduled recycling collection day.

Visit the Thanksgiving Day page to get the collection schedule for the upcoming holiday.

2022 Sanitation Holidays

DateHoliday
January 1 (Saturday)New Year's Day
January 17 (Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 12 (Saturday)Lincoln's Birthday
February 21 (Monday)Washington's Birthday (Presidents' Day)
May 30 (Monday)Memorial Day
June 20 (Monday)Juneteenth (Observed)
July 4 (Monday)Independence Day
September 5 (Monday)Labor Day
October 10 (Monday)Italian Heritage Day/Indigenous Peoples' Day
November 8 (Tuesday)Election Day
November 11 (Friday)Veterans Day
November 24 (Thursday)Thanksgiving
December 26 (Monday)Christmas (Observed)

In general, there is no collection on sanitation holidays, but that is subject to change. You can check back near the date of the holiday to confirm the collection schedule.

Usually:

  • If a holiday occurs on your trash or compost collection day, put your items out after 4 PM that day for collection beginning the next day.
  • If a holiday occurs on your recycling collection day, put your items out after 4 PM the day before your next scheduled recycling collection day.

2023 Sanitation Holidays

DateHoliday
January 1 (Monday)New Year's Day (Observed)
January 16 (Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 13 (Monday)Lincoln's Birthday (Observed)
February 20 (Monday)Washington's Birthday (Presidents' Day)
May 29 (Monday)Memorial Day
June 19 (Monday)Juneteenth
July 4 (Tuesday)Independence Day
September 4 (Monday)Labor Day
October 9 (Monday)Italian Heritage Day/Indigenous Peoples' Day
November 7 (Tuesday)Election Day
November 11 (Saturday)Veterans Day
November 23 (Thursday)Thanksgiving
December 25 (Monday)Christmas

  Was this information helpful?   Yes    No