The Bus Lane Camera Program installs cameras at fixed locations and on buses in New York City to film vehicles that drive, park, or stand in bus lanes. Signs are posted where the cameras are in use to warn drivers to keep out of bus lanes except when making right turns or picking up or dropping off passengers.

If your vehicle is filmed driving, parking, or standing in a bus lane, you will be sent a Notice of Liability (NOL) in about 30 days.

If the date of the violation (not the date of the NOL) was on or after June 24, 2019, the fine is $50. If the date of the violation was before June 24, 2019, the fine is $115.

You can view your bus lane camera violation video online if you have the NOL number and the PIN provided on the NOL.

View your bus lane camera violation video.

To learn how to pay your violation visit the Parking Ticket or Camera Violation Payment page. Learn how to fight your violation on the Parking Ticket or Camera Violation Dispute page.

You can verify a bus lane camera location by making a Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) request to the Department of Transportation (DOT).

Learn more about DOT FOIL requests.

Online

Submit your request on Open Records.

By Mail

Call 311 for assistance.

You can request the installation or removal of a bus lane camera.

Online

Email the Department of Transportation.

By Mail

Mail your request to:

Department of Transportation Commissioner
55 Water Street, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10041

You can report a bus lane camera that is damaged or not working properly.

The Department of Transportation will respond to your request within 12 weeks.

Online

Email the Department of Transportation.

By Mail

Mail your request to:

Department of Transportation Commissioner
55 Water Street, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10041

The NYPD also patrols bus lanes and will issue violations for being in a bus lane. If you get a violation from a police officer for driving in a bus lane, it’s considered a moving violation. The ticket will be yellow and the fine is $150.

Information about paying or disputing a moving violation is on the back of the violation. For more information about moving violations, visit the Traffic Ticket page.