Need something else?

Speed cameras are placed in school zones to photograph speeding vehicles. They operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

If your car is caught speeding by a speed camera, you will be sent a Notice of Liability (NOL) in about 14 days. The fine is $50.

You can request the installation or removal of speed cameras.

DOT will respond to requests within 12 weeks of receipt.

Online

Email the Department of Transportation.

By Mail

Mail your request to:

Department of Transportation Commissioner
55 Water Street, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10041

You can report a speed camera that is damaged or not working properly.

The Department of Transportation will respond to your request within 12 weeks.

Online

Email the Department of Transportation.

By Mail

Mail your request to:

Department of Transportation Commissioner
55 Water Street, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10041

The NYPD also patrols school zones and issues violations for speeding. If you get a yellow violation from a police officer for speeding in a school zone, it’s considered a moving violation.

Information about paying or disputing a moving violation is on the back of the violation. For more information about moving violations, visit the Traffic Ticket page.

If you receive 15 or more school speed camera violations within a 12-month period, you may be required to complete a safe vehicle operation course. Failure to complete this course may result in your vehicle being seized and impounded. The law went into effect on October 26, 2020.

Learn more about the Dangerous Vehicle Abatement Program.

  Was this information helpful?   Yes    No