Call 911
Call 911 if there is an emergency or life threatening issue due to a power outage such as downed power lines, person trapped in an elevator, or electrically powered medical equipment.

Need something else?

You can report a power outage, blackout, or file a power outage claim to be reimbursed for spoiled food.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Alert

Due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) health and safety concerns, Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) staff will wear masks if inspection is required/attempted. Tenants are also asked to wear masks during any inspection.

You can make a complaint about having no power in a residential building.

Before filing a complaint, you should try to resolve the issue with your landlord, managing agent, or superintendent. If you live in a co-op or condo, you should first report apartment maintenance issues to the owner, management company, or board before filing a complaint with HPD.

What Happens Next

The Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) investigates maintenance complaints and tickets owners who break the law.

HPD will attempt to contact your building's managing agent to advise them that a complaint has been filed and that a violation may be issued if the condition is not corrected immediately. HPD will also attempt to call you back to see if the condition was corrected. If you indicate that the condition was corrected, HPD will close the complaint.

Learn more about HPD complaints and inspections.

Learn more about housing quality and safety issues on the HPD website.

Inspections

If it was not corrected or HPD cannot reach you, a uniformed Code Enforcement inspector will be sent to inspect the reported condition. If English is not your primary language, let the Inspector know and they can call a translator to help.

The owner/agent is not notified of the inspection date. Inspectors will also check for the following violations: smoke detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, lead-based paint (if there is a child under six), window guards (if there is a child under 11), double cylinder locks, and bars on the fire escape windows.

Additional Assistance

There is additional support available for tenants in rent-controlled or rent-stabilized apartments. To learn more, go to the Rent Regulated Apartments page.

For more information about residential property maintenance requirements and tenant rights and responsibilities, use the Housing Rules for Owners and Tenants page.

Copies of maintenance complaints are available for both Tenants and Landlords.For additional questions about a complaint or to get copies of complaints, go to the HPD Building Information and Code Enforcement Borough Service Centers page.

Housing Court

If you made a complaint and your landlord didn't fix the problem, you can take legal action in Housing Court. Document all contact with your landlord and HPD about the conditions in your apartment so you can use it in court.

To learn more about Housing Court, go to the Housing Court for Tenants and Landlords page.

You can report a power outage or blackout affecting one or more buildings in any part of New York City, except the Rockaways, to Con Edison.

Report a power outage or blackout:

Online

Report a power outage in any part of New York City except the Rockaways to Con Edison.

By Phone

  • Agency: Con Edison
  • Phone Number: (800) 752-6633
  • Business Hours: 24 hours, 7 days a week
  • Staff is available through the automated phone system at all times. Automated assistance is also available in Spanish. Most languages are available through staff.

PSEG Long Island accepts reports of power outages or blackouts affecting one or more buildings in the Rockaways.

Report a power outage or blackout in the Rockaways:

Online

Report a power outage in the Rockaways to PSEG Long Island.

By Phone

  • Agency: Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG)
  • Division: Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG) Long Island
  • Phone Number: (800) 490-0025
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 8 PM
  • Staff is available through the automated phone system during business hours for general questions and at all times for emergencies.

If you experienced a power outage resulting from a failure in Con Edison’s local distribution system that lasted for more than 12 hours within a 24-hour period, you can file a claim to be reimbursed for spoiled food or prescription medication.

You must file your claim within 30 days of the date of the power outage.

Claims for reimbursement for losses sustained as a result of power outages caused by storms or other conditions beyond Con Edison's control will not be paid.

Losses from damage to motors, equipment, or appliances are not reimbursable.

Reimbursement is subject to reasonable verification and is governed by Con Edison’s electric rate schedule.

Learn more about filing a claim with Con Edison or get claim forms.

Residential Claims

Residential customers may file claims of up to $540 for actual losses of spoiled food.  All claims must include an itemized list. For claims over $235, you must also provide evidence such as receipts or photographs along with the itemized list.

Reimbursement is limited to food and medicine and is governed by Con Edison’s electric rate schedule.

Claims for Actual Losses of Prescription Medication

You can also file a claim for actual losses of prescription medication spoiled due to lack of refrigeration. Reimbursement for actual losses of prescription medication are not included in the $540 maximum payment for food spoilage.

You must include an itemized list with all fields completed and proof of actual prescription medication loss. Proof must include a legible pharmacy receipt identifying the medication, amount paid, date of purchase, and days of supply.

If your medication spoils due to lack of refrigeration after it has been partially consumed, please include only the value of the unused medication in your claim. For example, if you paid $300 for a 30-day supply of medication and there are five days left in your prescribed supply, your claim should be for $50. 

Do not include your social security number with your submission.

Commercial Claims

You can file a claim to be reimbursed up to a maximum of $10,700 for actual losses of perishable merchandise spoiled due to lack of refrigeration.

You must provide both an itemized list with all fields completed and proof of actual loss. Proof must include legible receipts that identify the date of purchase and specific spoiled items purchased.

Reimbursement is limited to spoilage of perishable merchandise.

File a Claim

The claims form can be submitted:

By Email

Email the completed form to NewClaims@conEd.com.

By Mail

Con Edison Claims Department
PO Box 801 
New York, NY 10276

By Phone

  • Agency: Con Edison
  • Phone Number: (800) 752-6633
  • Business Hours: 24 hours, 7 days a week
  • Staff is available through the automated phone system at all times. Automated assistance is also available in Spanish. Most languages are available through staff.

  Was this information helpful?   Yes    No