New York City Anti-Idling Law
In New York City, vehicle idling is illegal if it lasts more than 3 minutes or more than 1 minute when adjacent to a school. This includes buses and delivery trucks.
There are a few exceptions:
- When the temperature is less than 40 degrees F (for vehicles having a seating capacity of 15 or more passengers, such as a bus)
- When the engine is powering a loading, unloading, or processing device
- When the vehicle is a legally authorized emergency vehicle, such as an ambulance.
The Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) enforces the idling law. Fines range from $350 to $2,000.
New York State Anti-Idling Law
Under New York State law, heavy duty diesel trucks and buses may not idle for more than 5 minutes in a row unless the temperature is less than 25 degrees F and the vehicle is stopped for 2 hours.
There are exceptions to the law, including:
- When the engine is powering an auxiliary function such as loading cargo, unloading cargo, or mixing concrete
- When running the engine is required for maintenance
- When fire, police, utility, or other vehicles are performing emergency services
The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC) enforces this law. Fines range from $250 to $15,000.