It is illegal to put rechargeable batteries in your recycling or garbage. This includes batteries from:

  • Laptops
  • Cell phones
  • Digital cameras

All stores in New York State that sell rechargeable batteries (or products containing them) must accept rechargeable batteries for recycling. No purchase is necessary.

These types of stores include:

  • Hardware stores
  • Office supply stores
  • Drug stores
  • Electronic stores

Food stores with less than 14,000 square feet are exceptions and do not need to accept batteries.

Non-rechargeable and alkaline household batteries may be discarded with regular garbage.

Learn more about throwing out rechargeable batteries.

Get a guide to recycling requirements for businesses.

You can file a complaint against a store that:

  • Sells rechargeable batteries and does not accept rechargeable batteries for recycling, or
  • Does not have information about rechargeable battery recycling

Online

Report a store that does not accept rechargeable batteries.

By Phone

  • Agency: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Division: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Tip Line
  • Phone Number: (800) 847-7332
  • Business Hours: 24 hours, 7 days a week

You can find a store near you to drop off rechargeable batteries.

Online

Use the Call 2 Recycle Drop Off Locator.

By Phone

  • Agency: Rechargeable Battery Recycling Corporation
  • Phone Number: (877) 273-2925
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 6 PM

State law requires all stores selling rechargeable batteries (or products containing rechargeable batteries) to accept and recycle the same types of rechargeable batteries sold or contained in their products.

Retailers can get help setting up a free rechargeable battery collection program.

Online

Get help setting up a free rechargeable battery collection program for a business.

By Phone

  • Agency: Rechargeable Battery Recycling Corporation
  • Phone Number: (877) 273-2925
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 6 PM