Need something else?

You can get information and literature on cigarette, electronic cigarette, cigar, and tobacco product laws and their sale.

Learn about smoking and tobacco control laws.

Retailers are prohibited from selling cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, powdered tobacco, other tobacco products, or electronic cigarettes to customers under age 21.

These changes are included in the Sensible Tobacco Enforcement Local Law 94.

You can download the fact sheet, "New Law Prohibiting Sale of Cigarettes, Tobacco Products, and Electronic Cigarettes to People Under Age 21 in New York City, What You Need to Know" in several languages. You can also order copies by phone.
   
Online

Get the Tobacco 21 Law Fact Sheet in:

By Phone

Call 311 to request a paper copy.

Local Law 97, "Sensible Tobacco Enforcement," creates requirements and restrictions for cigarette retail dealers. The law also increases fines and creates penalties for cigarette retail dealers who engage in illegal activity, including operating without a license or selling untaxed cigarettes.

You can download the fact sheet "New Laws and Penalties for Cigarette and Other Tobacco Product Violations in New York City, What You Need to Know" in several languages. You can also order copies by phone.

Online

Get "New Laws and Penalties for Cigarette and Other Tobacco Product Violations in New York City, What You Need to Know" in:

By Phone

Call 311 to request a paper copy.

A cigar that costs $3 or less must be sold in a package of at least four cigars. Little cigars must be sold in packs of at least 20, with a minimum price of $13.00 per pack.

These changes are included in the Sensible Tobacco Enforcement Local Law 97.

You can download the fact sheet "New Laws Governing Cigar Sales in New York City Tobacco Retail Stores, What You Need to Know" or request a paper copy by phone.

Online

Download the the fact sheet.

By Phone

Call 311 to request a paper copy.

Local laws 94 and 97 affect licensed cigarette and tobacco product retailers and wholesalers.

Local law 94 raises the legal age for the sale of cigarettes, other tobacco products, and electronic cigarettes.

Local law 97 establishes new regulations and requirements for the sale of cigarettes and other tobacco products.

Retailers and wholesalers can request an information packet to help them comply with these laws and avoid possible violations and fines.

Call 311 to request a paper copy.

Electronic cigarettes are included in the Smoke-Free Air Act. You are not allowed to use an e-cigarette in places where smoking is prohibited, including bars, restaurants, offices, parks, and beaches. Retailers cannot sell tobacco products and electronic cigarettes to anyone under 21.

Learn about smoking and tobacco control laws.

To report food service workers smoking any substance, go to the Smoking Complaint page.

Effective March 2016, it is illegal for anyone to use smokeless tobacco at a sports arena or recreational arena that issues tickets for assigned seats or standing room to any event. 

The law prohibits the use of any tobacco product that is intended for oral or nasal use. That includes, but is not limited to, chewing tobacco, dipping tobacco, snus, snuff, and dissolvable tobacco products.

Operators of arenas must:

  • Update their "No Smoking" signs to inform their employees and the public that the use of smokeless tobacco is also prohibited
  • Inform smokeless tobacco users that they are breaking the law