The trash and recycling schedule for your home is based on your address.

Place your items curbside on the curb between 4 PM and midnight the evening before your scheduled pickup.

If your pickup is before 4 PM, you must retrieve trash and recycling bins by 9 PM. If your pickup is after 4 PM, you must retrieve bins by 9 AM the following morning.

Suspensions may occur for a City holiday or during a snowstorm.

You can report that the collection days listed in the Department of Sanitation's collection schedule lookup for your address are incorrect.

Call 311 for assistance.

The Department of Sanitation (DSNY) temporarily suspended the curbside organics composting service on Monday, May 4th, 2020. Organics collections are expected to resume in July 2021.

The City suspended organics service to divert resources to emergency COVID-19 response efforts. Additionally, this crisis and the resulting decrease in economic activity have forced the City to make significant budget cuts to maintain emergency services and core municipal services.

While the service is suspended, you can put your food scraps, food-soiled paper, and yard waste in the trash following normal Residential Trash Rules or you can compost at home. Do not put items out in your brown organics bin.

Keep your organics bin in storage for when service resumes. DSNY will not take back or replace brown bins.

In general, there is no trash or recycling collection on sanitation holidays but that is subject to change. You can check back near the date of the holiday to confirm the collection schedule.

  • If a holiday occurs on your trash collection day, put your items out after 4 PM that day for collection beginning the next day.
  • If a holiday occurs on your recycling collection day, put your items out after 4 PM the day before your next scheduled recycling collection day.

2020 Sanitation Holidays

DateHoliday
January 1 (Wednesday)New Year's Day
January 20 (Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 12 (Wednesday)Lincoln's Birthday
February 17 (Monday)Washington's Birthday
May 25 (Monday)Memorial Day
July 4 (Saturday)Independence Day
September 7 (Monday)Labor Day
October 12 (Monday)Columbus Day
November 3 (Tuesday)Election Day
November 11 (Wednesday)Veterans Day
November 26 (Thursday)Thanksgiving Day
December 25 (Friday)Christmas Day

2021 Sanitation Holidays

DateHoliday
January 1 (Friday)New Year's Day
January 18 (Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 12 (Friday)Lincoln's Birthday
February 15 (Monday)Presidents' Day
May 31 (Monday)Memorial Day
July 5 (Monday)Independence Day (Observed)
September 6 (Monday)Labor Day
October 11 (Monday)Columbus Day
November 2 (Tuesday)Election Day
November 11 (Thursday)Veterans Day
November 25 (Thursday)Thanksgiving
December 24 (Friday)Christmas (Observed)
December 31 (Friday)New Year's Day (Observed)

For information on school schedules, school officials must contact the DOE Division of School Facilities in Long Island City.

Contact information for School Facilities is available through the school.